Programme Committee

The board of Play the Game and the Danish Institute for Sports Studies appoints a Programme Committee for each conference.

The committee has two main tasks:

  • to advise on themes and speakers for the conference
  • to evaluate the conference

The members of the 2017 Programme Committee are (in alphabetical order, last name)

  • Peter Barendse, Researcher, Knowledge Centre for Sport Netherlands, the Netherlands

  • Koen Breedveld, Director, Mulier Institute, Utrecht University, the Netherlands

  • Frank van Eekeren, PhD, Senior Consultant, Utrecht University, the Netherlands

  • Judit Farkas, Quality Assurance and Accreditation Officer, University of Physical Education, Hungary

  • Christopher Gaffney, Independent Scholar, USA

  • Arnout Geeraert, PhD, KU Leuven/Play the Game, Belgium

  • Aleksandra Goldys, Principal researcher, University of Warsaw, Poland

  • Grit Hartmann, Freelance journalist, Germany

  • Arno Hermans, Founder, Sport eXperience, the Netherlands

  • Mogens Kirkeby, President, International Sport and Culture Association, Denmark

  • Emiel Krijt, ‎Senior Account manager Public Affairs, NOC/NSF, the Netherlands

  • Jesper Frigast Larsen, Legal Manager, Anti-Doping Danmark, Denmark

  • Mike McNamee, Professor of Applied Ethics, Swansea University, UK

  • Osasu Obayiuwana, freelance journalist, BBC World Football, Nigeria

  • Marjan Olfers, professor of sports law, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands

  • Roger Pielke Jr., Professor, CU Boulder, USA

  • Andreas Selliaas, Journalist, Academic Researcher, Norway

  • Harry Arne Solberg, Professor, NTNU Business School, Norway

  • Arnoud Strijbis, CEO, Dutch Archery Association, the Netherlands
  • Tine Rindum Teilmann, Board Member, National Olympic Committee and Sports Confederation of Denmark (DIF), and member of the IOC Women’s Commission, Denmark

  • Paulina Tomczyk, Policy Officer, EU Athletes, Poland

  • Steven Vos, ‎Professor at Fontys University of Applied Sciences & Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands

  • Jens Weinreich, Journalist and blogger,, Germany

  • René Wijlens, Manager, Sports and Technology Foundation, the Netherlands

Use of cookies

The website uses cookies to provide a user-friendly and relevant website. Cookies provide information about how the website is being used or support special functions such as Twitter feeds. 

By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies. You can find out more about our use of cookies and personal data in our privacy policy.